Gone till next year.

A few weeks ago, I blogged about the autumn colors, and how brilliant they were.

But what many people don’t realize is how brief that moment is here in Ontario, and how quickly things change.

This was three weekends ago:

Scene Nov. 2

And this was today:

Scene Nov-Crop

Again, three weekend ago:

Hill in October 1

And today:

Hill in November

BLAH.

And just think, there are still seven more weeks of autumn before winter officially starts.

As far as I’m concerned….bring on the snow!

It won’t be that much colder, but at least it will brighten up the place.

Grey Trees

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

41 Comments on “Gone till next year.”


  1. Wow, it DOES change quickly. These are all gorgeous, but boy what a change in light and color. It’s still green here, with some change…How soon for snow?

  2. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    We’ve already had some sloppy wet snow flurries, but nothing significant.

    Usually it’s white by December. But last year was a bit early, we got a dump the 2nd week of November and it STAYED. :-O

  3. Mike Goad Says:

    We’ve got the colors right now — and, all too soon, they’ll be gone.

    We can do without the snow, though. If I want that, we’ll just drive up to Wisconsin to visit family — but, then again, they’re coming to visit us for USA Thanksgiving, so no snow this year (we hope).

  4. Friar Says:

    @Mike

    The snow does make for some white-knuckle drives, I admit.

    Not that I don’t’ try to avoid driving in snow-storms. Just that there are so damned many…sooner or later, you always get caught.

  5. Davina Says:

    Friar, the colours are brilliant in the shots from a few weeks ago, but there is something enticing about the second series — humble, rugged. The sky in the pic second from the last… wow! I’m kinda missing Ontario right now.

  6. Friar Says:

    @Davina

    You MISS Ontario in November?

    (Shaking my head).

    But then again, it’s not the best month for Vancouver, either.

  7. seestor Says:

    I know, it’s sad. I’ve been eating kielbasa to make myself feel better.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Seestor

    I hope you give some to Tipper, too!

    POOR TIPPER.

  9. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    It’s still beautiful, just in a different way. Davina’s right about that sky. 🙂

    We’re kinda-sorta working on Fall. We don’t get much in the way of leaf changes and some trees don’t even drop all their leaves until mid-December.

    Mer

  10. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    One thing you notice is the woods are so silent. The humming instect, garumping bull-frogs, chimpunks, tittering asshole squirrels, most of the birds…they’re all gone. The only thing you hear is the wind, or the pulse in your ears.


  11. Hm…that’s sounding very poetic…. 🙂

  12. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    No..no…

    I don’t do poetry.

    You can’t make me. You can’t. You can’t You can’t.


  13. Eyekuguy said you did. 🙂

  14. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar does beautiful poetry, he’s actually a sensitive, angst ridden individual. He has another blog where he posts his bests stuff. But I’m not allowed to post a link here. I promised.

    But I can tell you he uses long words and alliteration. He is even known to use the word love.

    Eyekuguy

    Very clever play on my name Janice, I’ll have to cut you a cheque for that one.


  15. 😀

    Why thank ya.

  16. seestor Says:

    Friar prefers to be thought of as a tough a$$ but he’s a softy inside.

  17. Eyeteaguy Says:

    @Seestor

    He is kinda squishy, you’re right. I just wish he would stop wearing spandex. Its very unflattering.

    Eyeteaguy

  18. Davina Says:

    Oh what a party… I love it here…

    @ seestor Most crabs have a hard shell to protect that soft squishy interior right?

    @ Friar… that pulse in your ears… I’m wondering if perhaps you’re picking up on signals from outer space: “Open the pod bay doors Hal.” Heh, heh.

  19. Friar Says:

    Geez, I leave the room for a few hours, and all the comments come pouring in from the peanut gallery.

    DO continue, though.

  20. Karen JL Says:

    Friar has crabs?

  21. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Sigh. That’s what I get for being born in the month of July.

    I’d rather use the Chinese Horoscope…at least then, I’d have “Dragons”.

  22. seestor Says:

    I have goats. :-/ Those darn horns keep getting in the way.

    @Davina

    Given that he lives in Splat Creek, he’s more of a hermit crab than anything.

  23. Friar Says:

    @seestor

    Oh, I disagree. I’m a well-known celebrity in town.

    They still approach me in the grocery store and comment about the leters to the editor I wrote in the local paper 18 months ago.

    And the other day, I got pulled over by a cop, but he recognized me as a local, and let me off with a warning.

    Who SEZ I’m not social?

  24. Davina Says:

    @seestor, I think hermit crabs are cute. I’m a goat too, born in the year of the dragon. Speaking of horns, my sisters and I once wanted to name a cow “horny” because it had huge horns. Mom wouldn’t let us and we didn’t know why… mmmpft.

    @Friar, I can just imagine that letter you wrote to the paper too. The popular Cool Kids have to lie low to escape the paparazzi. But I digress…

  25. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    The Cancer’s alternative to crab is the turtle.:) I’m a Cancer, too, and I like the turtle better. Of course, I’d much prefer to be an Otter, but we can’t always get what we want, huh?

    Mer

  26. Friar Says:

    @DavinaH

    Oh, it was quite amusing. I dared question the status Quo set by the Splat Creek Elders. I even had my own 70-year-old stalker for a while.

    If you’re really bored, you can always read about it in my archives.

    https://deepfriar.wordpress.com/2008/06/14/friar-versus-the-gray-heads-part-va-possible-truce/

    @Mer

    Cancer = LAME-ASS. Dragon = Cool.

    I think I’ll take the Chinese Horoscope over the Western Roman/Greek one. Thank you very much.

    Hypothetically speaking, of course, ‘coz I don’t believe in ANy of that. 😉

  27. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    Maybe so. But you can’t tell me you’re not good to your mother. 😛

    Wood Dragon, huh? the “most eccentric in the Chinese Zodiac.” Hmmmm….

    Mer, who tries to forget her Chinese Zodiac sign 😳

  28. steph Says:

    No. No, no, no, no, no. NO SNOW.

    Bah, humbug!!

    I was absolutely miserable walking L today. I couldn’t get warm. And it’s 2 degrees, still above 0! I don’t belong here. 😦

    I just dread the thought of such a long winter…

  29. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    It was thinking about it yesterday…the rain was on the verge of solidifying, and bouncing off my head.

    Actually, snow would have been nicer…at least I’d have stayed dry.

  30. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    I don’t know anything about the Wood Dragon. I just know I was born in the Year of the Dragon.

    The only reason I know that, is that I was in a Chinese restaurant, bored and waiting for my food to arrive.

    So I started reading the place-mat. 😉

  31. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    I read those placemats, too. 😀

    Unfortunately, the Chinese zodiac is like everything else–more complicated than it appears on the surface. I was a little appalled that I had to figure out which element went with which year. And I didn’t even know metal was an element!

    Oy. Then there’s the Indian vedic zodiac and who knows what others! 😮

    I think I’ll stick with just the one. 😉

    @ Steph

    Were you getting bombarded by sleet? Getting wet makes being cold unbearable. 😦

    ::gives you hot cocoa::

    Mer

  32. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    Wonder what the Astrology-Geeks think, now that Pluto’s been demoted to a Dwarf Planet? Does it affect their Horror-scopes?

    And what about the new dwarf-planets that they keep discovering, some at least as big as Pluto?

    PS. Of the 117 known elements, most (but not all) are metals.

    But not all metals are necessarily elements.
    They can be mixtures of metals (i.e. alloys) like steel.

  33. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    Oh, they still keep using Pluto the way it was. I don’t know how they’re going to integrate dwarf-planets, but they already use asteroids (way more complicated!) so I’m sure they’ll think of something.

    Wait, since the planets have names instead of numbers–you know how the astronomers do when they find something new–they’ll probably base some of it on the mythology behind the names. So Nix (aka, Nyx) may have something to do with night or sleep or death or oracles / prophecy (since she’s the mother of sleep, death, etc.) and Charon something with traveling somewhere life-changing. (I’d watch out for Eris, btw.)

    Yeah, I don’t think the Chinese astrologers were thinking about the elements in the periodic table or any alloys thereof. Their elements are earth, wood / tree, water, fire, and metal. I guess they don’t have the same connotation as the Western elements do. Now that I’ve [sort of] looked them up, the Chinese elements look a lot different. Kind of like rock, paper, scissors, only not. 😉

    Mer

  34. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    So…what about all those horoscopes they did 100-200 years ago, before they discovered all the major planets?

    I guess they were wrong, then? 🙂

    What’s interesting, though, is the earth’s axis has wobbled somewhat since they invented astrology thousands of years ago. (It’s a 23,000 year cycle). So the zodiac signs are all now shifted by one.

    2000 years ago, if you were born in July, you were a “Cancer” because that’s the constellation where the sun happened to be at, during that month. .

    Today, in July, the sun’s in the constellation of Gemini. It’s moved one over.

    Yet people are still “Cancers”.

    Hahahha!

  35. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude! I don’t make the news, I just report it. 😉

    Mer

  36. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    Oh, I know.

    I just like to rant about astrology. Sorry you got caught in the cross-fire 😉

  37. Davina Says:

    LOL, just read your series of posts about the battle with the grays. Good grief, get a life people! It was entertaining, I have to say. I’m fascinated by the fact that it was mostly the seniors who were riled up. I bet there were a lot of other readers nodding in agreement with you, but didn’t have the courage to speak up.

  38. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Good point Davina.

    All the young folks did was blog about it. No one else had the nuts to confront Friar.

    But maybe we are just more relaxed about things.

    If we do find Friar wrapped in carpet and dumped in the river, we’ll have a short list of suspects. Basically any senior in Splat Creek.

    Eyecopguy

  39. Davina Says:

    “Eyecopguy” lol. I somehow can’t picture Friar wrapped in a carpet and dumped in the river, but he’d definitely be swimming with the “other” Big Mouths then. 😉

    Friar… watch yourself at that art class… aren’t most of em… uh… seniors?

  40. Friar Says:

    @Eyecopguy

    I don’t think they have the strength to wrap me in a carpet and dump me in the river.

    But I am in danger of having pennies thrown at me, from their little change-purses.

    Or maybe they’ll hose down my driveway when I’m not looking

    @DavinaH

    Actually, my art class was supportive. Artists tend to be a bit rebellious (even the seniors). When they read my editorials, their reaction was “Well, it’s about TIME someone said something”.

    It’s nice to know, that some seniors are still cool.


Leave a Reply

