Gone to the Dogs

A quick study of Brett’s puppy, Walter.

Walter

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

27 Comments on “Gone to the Dogs”

  1. Kyddryn Says:

    Aww, cute pupper!

    I wish I could paint worth a dang.

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K (Who can’t even paint walls very well. Sigh.)

  2. Brett Legree Says:

    Cool!

    You’d better keep the original away from Walt, or he’ll eat it 🙂

  3. Friar Says:

    @Kyddryn

    Walls ain’t always so easy to paint, either! 😉

    @Brett

    If you like it, you can have it!


  4. How Cute!!! Hmm Brett…Have a feeling I know where you took Walter for a walk last night!

  5. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    That painting was from a photo taken in July.

    Walt’s a fairly big lummox now…(and still growing!)


  6. I could tell he’s a lummox by the size of those feet! Good Lord! I love Labs.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Besty

    I have a soft spot for Labs, too. If I were a dog, that’s probably the kind of breed I’d be.

  8. Eyeteaguy Says:

    For fuck sake, stop leeching off of other people and get your own damned dog.

    Actually scratch that. You’d be like a new mom and that would be all we hear about.

    How about painting a white car in the middle of a snow storm. That would be cool and you’d get 300 comments too.

    Eyeteaguy

  9. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    No, it’s much more fun being an Uncle (to kids and dogs alike). All the fun…zero reponsibility.

    That way I get to bug parent (like you) who envy my freedom, and have to deal with their precious offspring once Uncle Friar gets ’em all wound up.

    PS. I’d never get 300 comments on a lame-ass painting. That only applies to photos of lame-ass dead fish.

  10. XUP Says:

    Awwww…who’s a little smoochy face? Who’s handsome, handsome boy? Yes, you are. Yes, you ARE. Waltery, Walter, Walter…mwah, mwah, mwah…what a handsome boy…skootchy skootchy skootchy boy…yes, you’re a handsome boy…what a handsome puppy…yes, you’re a handsome puppy…

  11. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    Heh heh..that’s EXACTLY how you get him all wound up!

    Look out or he’ll be trying to chew on your hand and eat your watch.

  12. Amy Says:

    We have a pup named Walter too!

  13. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Well we’ll have to get seriously off topic then.

    Walter is cute but dumb. And to prove it?
    You like him, that means he’s cute.
    He likes you, that means he’s d…..

    Eyeteaguy

  14. Friar Says:

    @Amy

    Not exactly sure how he got his name.

    Brett might have got the idea from Clint Eastwoods Walt Kowalski charcter in “Gran Torino”

    @Eyeteaguy

    …that means he’s decided Friar is the BEST guy in the whole world.

    You’re just jealous because Walt loves me more than he loves you.

  15. Karen JL Says:

    Puppies make everything better.

  16. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    ..even more so than rainbow-unicorns and marshmallow-cloud pirate ships!

  17. Davina Says:

    Walter is indeed a sweetie and I love the background you added too. So, what’s on the back of this painting? 😉

  18. Mer Says:

    I like it. I can see his poofy puppy tummy. 😀

    But ye gods, yes, the FEET!! 😯

    Mer

  19. Friar Says:

    @Patricia

    Thanks!

    @Davina
    Nothing on the back of this sheet. I had a good painting session, I got it right the first time.

    Of course, there are always some mistakes…but when you’re painting a white dog, it’s really easy to over-do it. The hard part is not painting, but knowing when to STOP.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    Last time I saw him was about 2 weeks ago. He was five months, and 50 lbs.

    God knows how big he’ll be by the end of the year. 😮

  21. chris zydel Says:

    What an adorable doggie! I love it that he’s kind of cross eyed. It really adds to the goofy puppy factor. And I’m glad you’re posting more of your paintings!!

  22. Kyddryn Says:

    Walls wouldn’t be so bad, if they’d just learn to keep still…

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  23. Friar Says:

    @chris

    Let’s just say the cross-eyes were a “fortunate mistake” !

    The painting dosen’t look exactly like the photo..but I was biaised. I knew Walt’s personality, and it affected the outcome.

    By the way, I can’t post TOO many paintings, lest Eyeteaguy get upset.

    @Kyddryn

    Walls aren’t so bad. It’s the finicky work that annoys me (Painting near the baseboards and floor).

    When I helped my Dad, that’s the job he’d give me. Floorboards.

    Meanwhile, he’d do the fun instant-gratification stuff, taking the roller and covering the walls in two minutes.

    Now that I have my own house, I get to use the roller all I want. (Muahahahah!)

  24. chris zydel Says:

    That’s OK with me. Eyeteaguy’s bitching, moaning and complaining totally adds to the entertainment value of your blog!!

  25. Eyeteaguy Says:

    *insert maniacal laughter here*

    Sweet justice is mine…..and a huge cheque for my services of course.

    But “adds to the entertainment value” suggests there was something entertaining here before I showed up. That may not be correct.

    Painting of a dog….sheesh.

    Eyeentertainmentguy

  26. Friar Says:

    @chris

    I (reluctantly) admit, things were pretty quiet when I posted my Friar-O-Lanterns and horrorscope, and Eyeteaguy liked them and didn’t have anything else to say.

    We all owe him a debt of gratitude. He warms our hearts, he does.

    @Eyeteaguy
    You should thank ME, because I’m one of the rare few bloggers who tolerates your presence and allows you to vent your shenanigans.

    Tell you what: I’ll write an E-book (a $5300 value). But I’ll let you have it for $17.99. And we’ll call it even.


Leave a Reply

