Viking Schussing

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar Toons, Those Vikings...

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

31 Comments on “Viking Schussing”

  1. dave1949 Says:

    Vikings should have the most fun schussing after all they invented it.

  2. Linda Says:

    Love the cartoons! They bring a smile.

  3. Friar Says:

    @dave1949

    …I agree. As an avid skier, I can say it’s BEST damned think the Vikings ever did.

    @Linda

    Thanks! I like the Viking theme..think I’ll stick to it for a while.

  4. Kyddryn Says:

    Friar, darlin’ – you are delighful. I love the glleful look on the fellow burning the lift line…

    Ah, good clean fun…

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  5. Friar Says:

    @Kyddryn

    Yeah, it takes a lot of talent to burn a braided steel cable!

    (But those Vikings are resourceful..) 🙂

  6. bubbabrother Says:

    you are one funny dude, dude.

    its so cold here i think its gonna snow, snow in alabama, who da thought.

    then you can send us some vikings to show us how to ski

    bubba

  7. Friar Says:

    @bubbabrother

    Snow in Alabama? Awesome!!!

    And acutally, there IS a ski hill in Alabama.

    http://www.cloudmont.com/

    I can send Olaf and Bjorn to give some private lessons.

  8. Seestor Says:

    skull ski pole baskets … uber cool! I want some. Are they squirrel skulls?

    Nice cartoon, brother Fry.

    Happy 2010 everyone. I slept in an igloo two nights ago.

  9. steph Says:

    Haha, this is awesome! I especially love the guy flying totally normally through the middle of everyone, skulls on the ends of his poles!

  10. Anemone Says:

    No tobogganing on shields?

    I like the dog. 🙂

  11. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    Did you draw the cartoon especially for me? How fitting! Thanks. I continue to enjoy gentle skiing on beginner and intermediate slopes in Beautiful, B.C.

    Vikings continue to rule the slopes. They come charging out of the woods, and frighten skiers. Out here we call them Snowboarders.

  12. Friar Says:

    @Seestor
    Well, I think squirrel skulls would be too small, and they wouldn’t distribute the weight on the snow efficiently.

    The skulls are probably another critter. Possibly from fallen enemies, too.

    PS. You slept in an Igloo? OF COURSE you did.

    @Steph
    That’s Clöst Aerfrök, the Village Elder.

    Normally he’s too wise to partake in Viking shenanigans, but he does enjoy a good ski. Skulls and all.

    @Anemone
    No, this was a ski day. Lift tickets are expensive, the Vikings wanted to make the best use of their time. The Norske Tobaganning Outing is for another time.

    @Friar’s Mom
    It was synergy…it’s winter, I was thinking about skiing…

    But those &#$% Snowboard kids…they’re worthy of the Viking name. They’re just assclowns.

  13. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    Snowboarders aren’t assclowns, even though they wear colourful clown clothing. Granted, the crotch of their wide roomy boarding pants hangs down to their knees, and shows off their ass.

    Some of them are young thoughtless, inconsiderate, brainless kids who board too fast, who think they are invincible, thereby have have the right of way , and frighten the rest of the skiing public.

    As per your cartoon — True Viking Genetics.

    Like all Vikings it’s all about them.

  14. steph Says:

    Looking back on your cartoons and taking in each individual makes me appreciate them all the more. They really are so good! You must do something with this talent of yours.

    I know I’m no one special in the art world, so I don’t know how much my opinion actually means when I say I can’t get over how perfect each individual, each expression is. They’re the kind of hilarious where you can’t even laugh sometimes it’s so deep, you know that funny? I get that with Calvin and Hobbes, my favourite of all time.

    These are really good, Friar, and your rate of improvement is phenomenal. Now, what are your options?

  15. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom
    The Vikings were at least smart enough and brave enough to cross the Atlantic and explore new lands. I don’t think the snow-board kids fall into the same category.

    The stupid clothing, falling-off-their-arse baggy pants…the 15-year old mentality.

    Installing artificial stair railings in the middle of the ski hill so they can jump on them…

    …not to mention the loud grunge music they have to play outdoors in the snow-board park…ruining our peace.

    Sorry…to me that qualifies as pure, 100% Unadulterated ASS-CLOWN.

    @Steph
    I’ve been drawing cartoons since I was about 10. I’ve actually been published in a few (very minor) newsletters and such. But I haven’t really pursued this as serious career.

    Not sure where I’m going to go with this…but I’ve been really drawing a lots more this past year, it seems to be ramping up. It will be interesting to see where this goes.

    PS. Calvin and Hobbes ROCKS!!!

  16. davinahaisell Says:

    I learned a new word today — Schussing. Thought it was another of your made-up words until I Googled it. What’s interesting about these cartoons; there is so much colour, action, fun and craziness, yet I go all still, deep and quiet-like in appreciate of your talent 🙂

    This reminds me of Doodle Art. And I learned something else new today just from this post. Doodle Art was created right here in Vancouver in Gastown in 1972. Cool. http://www.doodleart.ca/history.htm

  17. Friar Says:

    @Davina

    I don’t think too many people use the word anymore, but it was big in the 1930’s when skiing started to get popular.

    Hah! Doodle-art! I had almost forgotten about that…wow..that takes me back! 🙂

    I actually had a few, when I was a kid. (But the damned pens they gave you always ran out of ink before you could finish!)

  18. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    The following ski terms will certainly date me: sitzmark, wedelling, mambo, avalement.

    p.s. I rode up the chairlift with two charming civilized boarders and had an interesting conversation. They were both from Australia. Definitely not of Viking ancestry.

  19. Kate Says:

    Er, Friar’s mum: if they were charming and civilised, they definitely weren’t Aussies, that is unless they were up to no good :).

    We are close (in relative terms) to the Kosciusko skifields and I’ve had plenty of opportunities to witness “charming and civilised” first hand.

    Some of us do have Viking ancestry – I’ve got Norwegian ancestors, does that count?

  20. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Huh? I never even heard of those words, and I started skiing in 1968.

    Civilized boarders…Hmph.. Maybe if they’re over 30. Otherwise, I somehow doubt it.

    @Kate
    Hey! I was at Kosciusko once…but in the summer. I drove part way up..and mountain biked the rest.

    Seems you have pretty decent ski hills in Oz. (They’re not the Rocky Mountains, but they’re significantly better than anything we have in Ontario).

    Must be the Viking decscendents who started skiing Down Under.

  21. XUP Says:

    Ha ha – My favourite part is always the apres-ski grog. That would be me with my head in the barrel.

  22. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Kate,

    A ski area named Kościuszko in Australia has always puzzled me.

    Taddeusz Kościuszko is a natioanl hero in Poland. I remember his name from my childhood. He was a Polish/Lithuanian general who led an uprising against Russia in the late 1700s.

    Do you know why Australia would use Kościuszko as a name for one of its mountains? Was the ski area named after the famous general or was it named after a modern day Mr. Kościuszko?

  23. Kate Says:

    Hi Friar’s mom,
    Here you go, we usually misspell it! There are places in Oz named after Strzelecki as well.

    “Polish-born explorer Paul Edmund de Strzelecki, was the first in Australia to climb Mt Kosciuszko. On 15 March 1840, Strzelecki climbed Australia’s highest mainland mountain and named it after a Polish Patriot, Tadeusz Kosciuszko.
    The Kosciuszko National Park, in turn, is named after this mountain.”

  24. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Kate,

    Thanks for the info. I try to learn something new each day. Today I learned four new things (1) a Polish climber named Strzelecki; (2)naming of Mount Kosciuszko; (3) Australia’s highest mainland mountain; (4)a National Park in Austrlia.

    Just curious, how come you know so much about Australia? Do you also have Australian ancestry.

  25. Kate Says:

    Hi Friar’s mom.
    We are taking over his blog aren’t we. Perhaps we’d better meet for coffee somewhere!

    I live in suburban Canberra and blog about that.

    Love Friar’s cartoons,BTW.

  26. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    It ain’t a Viking outing, unless someone has their head stuck in a barrel of grog.

    Though I must say I’m a bit disappointed. I expected that you’d show want to show more decor, and casually sip wine.

    @Kate and Friar’s Mom

    Don’t mind me….this blog often gets taken over by side conversations. Today is just your turn.

  27. Brett Legree Says:

    I’m with XUP on this one.

    In fact, my preference would be to skip the skiing all together, and drink all the grog before the tired skiers return 🙂

  28. XUP Says:

    Well there you go. We’ve both learned a little something about each other today – you’re a bit more refined that I thought and I’m a bit less refined than you thought.

  29. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I think that’s what the guy down there is trying to do… 😉

    @XUP

    Anyway, the fact that you might have some vices, just increases my respect for you!

    Though I’m a bit concerned about people LEARNING from my blog. I don’t want to make that a habit..

  30. Brett Legree Says:

    “…the fact that you might have some vices…”

    Wine is not a vice.

    It’s more like air.

    🙂

  31. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    So is beer, Scotch, and red meat.

    Among other things.


Leave a Reply

