Random Ski Thoughts

You can get pretty interesting weather skiing out West.   

Literally, on the same morning, you can be skiing below the clouds…

in the clouds…

..or above the clouds. 

Another thing I discovered while skiing on a remote gnarly bump-run…

..is that someone had carved and burned a demon-mask right into a tree. 

Now..THAT…is AWESOME.  (And I’m sure the Vikings would approve).

Going up the chairlift is also fun…

..because just where you get on, they have this ad for “Oxygen”.

I have no idea what “Oxygen” is, but I’m sure it’s…er…wonderful. 

(I mean…look how HAPPY it makes that woman! )

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

27 Comments on “Random Ski Thoughts”

  1. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Firsties!

    I have nothing to say about the post but…..FIRSTIES!

    Eyeteaguy

  2. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Did I mention I was first!

    Oh, and now second.

    I’ll have the podium locked out soon.

    Eyesecondguy

  3. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Third…..in case any one was interested.

  4. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Congratulations. You:

    (1) Win.
    (2) Win.
    (3) Win.

  5. Anemone Says:

    That mask is cool. I wonder how high it is off the ground in summer?

  6. Friar Says:

    @Anemone

    According to the resort stats, there is a 66 snow inch base.

    That mask IS cool…because it’s kind of an unfriendly, really difficult out-of-the-way spooky trail. The demon mask really sets the mood.

  7. Anemone Says:

    @Friar

    Then I guess it was made by a skier or a sasquatch rather than a hiker. Unless the hiker was a giant even by Viking standards.

  8. Anemone Says:

    Or is 66″ not that tall to most people?

  9. Friar Says:

    @Anemone

    66 inches is five foot six. But I’d say the demon-mask was about 3 feet tall. So you’d have to reach pretty far.

    Regardless,someone either had to ski or hike with wood-cutting tools, and spend a few hours carving up a tree.

    It’s kind of hidden too (if you can see it in the first photo).

    But someone still wanted to make that effort…that’s what impresses me.

  10. Brett Legree Says:

    @Eyeteaguy,

    I was actually first, but I had nothing to say and deleted my comment.

    @Anemone and Friar,

    I think a manitou made the carving.

  11. eyeteaguy Says:

    I nevr have anything to say, but that never stops me from saying something.

    Just like this comment, and probably the next as well.

    Eyeblabbrmouthguy

  12. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I think the carving is a Garpak. Or a Carcajou.

    @Eyeteaguy
    Yet, you still insist on payment, when my comments exceed 50.

  13. XUP Says:

    Do you take your camera with you while you’re skiing or did you make a special photography trip up the hills? I love the “above the clouds” photo

  14. Friar Says:

    @XUP
    Special photography trip up the hills? Good Lord, NO! That would take hours of brutal snow-shoeing to get there without a chairlift.

    I take my camera skiing…but not every day.

    But I like to snap some photos once in a while, so 50 years from now, I can remind myself that I used to be able to do stuff like this. Plus I might find a subject for a watercolor painting.

  15. Steph Says:

    That Oxygen looks like it might be gum. And if I hadn’t quit chewing, I’d try it. I mean, look how HAPPY it makes that woman!

    🙂

  16. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Yeah..heh heh. It looks like she’s really delighted to be tasting something special. 🙂

  17. Brett Legree Says:

    Oxygen Gum: Now with a vibrator in every pack.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Wouldn’t that be hard on the teeth?

  19. Karen JL Says:

    You *would* put it in your mouth, wouldn’t you Friar?

  20. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Not that I’d ever buy that product…

    …but WHERE else are you supposed to put it?

  21. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – I meant the vibrator, silly.

    OK, it’s officially my birthday. Send me cake. And booze.

    Because I’m old as f*ck.

  22. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Really?

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 😀

    But if you’re old as F*ck, what does that make me? We’re the same age!

  23. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – It makes you OLDER than f*ck. Because you’re still older than me. Ha!

    I’ll be closer to you this weekend (if you’re still here). We’re going to Harrison Hot Springs to soak my stressed out self. Yay!

  24. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    I’m older than you by what? 2-3 months?

    Yep…I’m still here. Flying out of Kelowna tomorrow afternoon.(Sigh)

    But I still got this afternoon and tomorrow morning to hit the slopes.

  25. Kate Says:

    A real carved mask – it’s incredible. You don’t think it might have been Bigfoot hiding there 🙂
    The above the clouds shot is awesome, what a view!

  26. Karen JL Says:

    Ahem. I think you got a couple of years on me. Neh!

  27. Friar Says:

    @Kate
    I don’t think we’ve had too many Sasquatches sightings out there…

    But there HAVE been coyotes and mountain lions….!

    @Karen
    Once you get past a certain age, one or two more years doosnt’ make any difference.

    But whatever you do…please don’t cut your long red tresses and get an “Old Bat” haircut (Poofy on top, and shaved 1/4 inch short all around).

    That would make the Animation Industry SAD.


Leave a Reply

