Another Watercolor

What is it, you may ask?

Why, it’s anything you want it to be!

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Another Watercolor”

  1. Eyeteaguy Says:

    What!?

    Smokin a big fattie again? LSD is illegal y’know.

    Eyeteaguy

    P.S. Firsties. Again. Still.

  2. Kate Says:

    I want it to be the soft rippling sand on a beach at low tide when the water’s running down.

  3. Steph Says:

    I don’t really want it to be snow, but that’s what it looks like to me. Either way, though, snow or sand, it’s intriguing.

    Was this one particularly difficult considering the colours? Ever since you told me about how you treat white in watercolours, I’ve kept that in mind. My admiration runs deep.

  4. Spalpeen Says:

    A vagina.

  5. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    Subconsiously, the watercolour has been influenced by the view from the window of the airplaane during your latest flight.

    It also resembles a disturbed oil slick.

  6. Karen JL Says:

    It’s upside down.

  7. Davina Says:

    It’s the icing on a cake. *drool*

  8. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    I didn’t realize you smoked LSD in a big fattie. I thought you just took it with sugar cubes.

    See? This is why I blog. I’m always learning new things.

    PS. Congratulations, you win.

    @Kate
    That’s a good one…it does look a lot like that. (Or sand-dunes from an airplane)

    @Spalpeen
    Of COURSE it is….!!!

    Which part(s), though?

    @Steph
    Hate to say it, but you’re right. It’s blown snow.

    I used a simple palette…four different kinds of blues, and two yellows. That’s it. The rest is the white paper.

    PS. Don’t say you admire me…you’ll just get Eyeteaguy all upset.

    @Friar’s Mom
    It’s a very fractal-looking photo. It looks like it could be from high altitude, but this was actually taken at ground level, with the snow at my feet.

    @KarenJL
    You’d think….but when I turned it upside down…people in the art class noticed it was a totally different painting and it lost something. There’s a definite “Right-side-up” to this one.

    @Davina
    Yesterday, you were bugging me about sammitches. Now you got me craving cake (chocolate cake with white butter icing!)

    Damn you! 🙂

  9. Kat Says:

    My first thought was actually a rather troubled sea, but that might relate to my fear of being out of sight of land and caught in a storm on the ocean seeping through my subconscious. *Shrugs* Second was sand dunes. Never having seen enough snow to make ripples and waves that didn’t occur to me at all. Regardless, I like it. I could stare at it for hours like some people stare at clouds (picking out imaginary shapes in them and whatnot). Also, were it upside down I think I would be guessing it were clouds.

    Well done. =)

  10. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I was giving this some more thought.
    You said it could be anything I want.
    Well, I want it to be on another website.

    Eyeteaguy

  11. Friar Says:

    @Kat
    It looks very much like sand dunes, doesn’t it? One could almost imagine they’re hundreds of feet across, and this was taken from an airplane.

    But the snow dunes are actually inches across, and this was just a photo of the ground where I was standing.

    It’s interesting how Nature’s mechnanism for making dunes is similar, though.

    @Eyeteaguy
    And I want you to comment on another website.

    If you like, I could suggest a few blogs, when I KNOW they’ll welcome you with open arms! 😉


  12. It was sand dunes to me too. right away.But that may just be because I am sick and tired of snow and don’t want to see that AT ALL.

    It could have been snow white and I would have tried to turn it into something other then snow.

  13. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    I’m a bit torn. I want to see the warm weather, but I also dont’ want the snow to disappear just yet. It’s a bit early for the ski season to be ending.

  14. svc Says:

    Reminds me of blown snow on a very cold day. I can hear the crunch beneath my feet. Very nice.


Leave a Reply

