Oh! The Places You Can Take Your Honda Civic!

Off-season RV Park in Quartzite, Arizona.

a

Big trees in Redwood National Park, California.

a

Downtown Chicken, Alaska.

a

Outskirts of Bullfrog, Utah.

a

140000 feet at Mt. Evans, Colorado.

a

Crossing latitude 66° degrees 33′ North, NWT.

a

More big trees, this time at Sequoia National Park, California.

a

Monument Valley, Utah.

a

…and Inuvik, NWT.

(If anyone’s taken a Civic further north in Canada, let me know.)

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Oh! The Places You Can Take Your Honda Civic!”

  1. Friar's Mom Says:

    Yay!! Firstie.

    I remember a two-seater outhouse in Chicken Alaska. Was it still there?

  2. Karen JL Says:

    …and then, said Honda Civic died from exhaustion…;)

  3. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Been there, done that…… on a motorcycle.

    Eyebetterthanyouguy

  4. Friar Says:

    Friar’s Mom
    The Chicken visit was quite a few years ago, but they DID have an outhouse.

    I spent the night, getting drunk at the bar with the other gold miners, and camped in my tent out back.

    They shot a lady’s panties out of a cannon, as they always do.

    @Karen
    The White Civic was already 13 years old when my folks gave it to me. It was on it’s last legs, it burned a liter of oil every gas fill-up and they didn’t’ trust it to drive more than 100 km.

    So then I drove it around the continent, putting another 20,000 km on it.

    Lasted another year. I got $250 for the trade-in. Apparently one of the guys at the dealership fixed up the rust, and bought it for himself.

    @EyeYouWinGuy

    You rode your bike 700 km on gravel roads through tundra?

    I’m impressed.

  5. Davina Says:

    Nice legs! . I’m very jealous that you got to go to all these places. Astounding views.

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    Actually, a motorcycle makes more sense to do this kind of thing, if you think about it historically.

    If a person had a motor vehicle in the 20’s and 30’s, typically (if it wasn’t a farm tractor!) it would have been a motorcycle.

    The roads were so bad that the cars of the day would be shaken to bits after a few hundred miles.

    If you don’t believe me, take a look at the number of motorcycles in some parts of the world even today.

    Sure, you get dirty and so forth but it’s fun and if you have to drive around a washed out bit of road, it’s pretty easy on a bike.

  7. Brett Legree Says:

    PS –

    Downtown Chicken, Alaska has more stores than downtown Splat Creek.

    That tears it… I’m moving to Chicken.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Davina

    You could tell how nice my legs looked, from just those few pixels? 🙂

    But yeah, I was lucky to be able to see those places. It was the perfect combination of not having a house, being laid off, and having a good severance. I don’t’ think I’ll be able to do another trip like that till I’m 70.

    @Brett

    I met some bikers in Whitehorse…they pulled into a motel soaking wet, it was 10C outside and they were miserable and hypothermic.

    So if I had my druthers, I’d much prefer a car. At least, for any travel North of 60.

    @Brett again

    And…the stores in Chicken are open longer!

    (Well, EVERYTHING’s open longer than Splat Creek).

  9. Brett Legree Says:

    Yeah, but don’t forget, people were tougher back in the 20’s and 30’s.

    People have turned into a bunch of candy-asses these days.

    (Just ask Don Mills.)

    Plus, like I said, your car wouldn’t have survived the trip on the roads way back when. So, soaking wet on a motorcycle or not at all.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    I dunno. Model T’s were very simple cars, made of sheet metal and steel, and almost indestructible. Not like the plastic/fibreglass crap today.

    I guess it’s a moot point, though. Because they didn’t have roads up there in the 20’s and 30’s. The Alaska Highway only got started during WWII.

    But I bet you guys like Don Mills wouldn’t have had any difficulties, either way.

  11. Brett Legree Says:

    Oh, you’re right, they were simple.

    I have an owner’s manual for one, actually (from my great-grandfather, he had one).

    You had to completely disassemble the transmission every 2,000 miles and clean it. Seriously. Same thing for the rear differential.

    And you’re right, they didn’t have roads, but the motorcycles of the day could go anywhere a horse could go 🙂 which is why most “gentlemen” (gentlewomen?) had motorcycles back then rather than cars.

  12. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    Like in the late 50’s, before they completed the paved road between Sault Ste. Marie and Wawa. The existing road was twisty, gravel, with home-made floating bridges, and such.

    A bike could probably easily have done that. But it took cars about 8 hours to complete the 200 km.

    I don’t think women were allowed to ride bikes prior to 1960, though. Back then, if anyone tried to, she’d probably get burned at the stake.

  13. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    True – perhaps the women who were likely to be burned at the stake just rode their brooms 😉

    (Hey – you want to watch a movie tonight?)

  14. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Yeah…I’m around tonight. A movie would be good..it would be the highlight of a boring wet weekend.

  15. Kat Says:

    Friar,

    I have to admit to being a little bit jealous, how beautiful! On the other hand, I’ve got plenty of time to get around to that sort of traveling. Looks like you had a good time of it with that Civic. I wonder if my ’95 Ford Ranger will hold up through my own adventures.

    =)


  16. very nice pictures, but where is the bear?

  17. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    Looking through my albums, there arent’ too many photos that have both The Bear and the Honda.

    But I can tell The Bear is in three of these photos shown here.


  18. Hi Friar,
    Are you familiar with geocaching? I am creating a traveling exhibit about geocaching in Canada. We will be featuring one notable geocache from each province. For NWT, I have chosen a cache hidden behind the Inivuk ‘End of the Dempster’ sign, and need a photo to go with it.

    Your shot is the best I’ve come across (even with your Civic).

    Any chance you have a higher res version (2500+ pixels) you’d let us use?

    Here’s a link to some info:

    http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?guid=bda02401-b8ec-4c13-990f-0913675dd0c0

    Happy to tell you more.

    Kelly

  19. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Well, I’m flattered.

    I have the original photos, which I can scan in at higher resolution, and I’ll send it to you!


Leave a Reply

