Klistered Out

Some people have recently asked me what Klister is.

It’s a gooey.Β  sticky wax that you put on your skis when the temperature is above freezing.

You have to put it on, otherwise your skis slide backwards and all over the place.

But everyone HATES Klister.

Why?

Here’s what is looks like:

It has the consistency of maple syrup mixed with 5-minute epoxy:

And here’s what the bottom of your skis look like, after you use it.

…which is why everyone HATES Klister!

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Klistered Out”

  1. Cheryl Paris Says:

    I got it! Now I do understand why people don’t like it.
    πŸ™‚

    Bye for now,
    Cheryl
    Cheryl Paris Blog


  2. I bought a pair of inexpensive waxless skis JUST so that I don’t have to use klister.

  3. Friar Says:

    @Cheryl
    See? Hang out the Deep Friar, and you’ll learn things! (Though not always good!) πŸ˜‰

    @Army Wife
    Ooh. Waxless skis. For purists, that is just NOT done! (*Rolls eyes*) πŸ™‚

    But that’s okay. The purists would have quit skiing by now anyway. Only the obsessive-compulsive die-hards are left.

  4. Brett Legree Says:

    I’m sorry, but the name just reminds me a little too much of http://www.klyster.com/

    (click, I dare you – but not at work)

  5. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Brett,

    It’s all in the spelling. Brett, it’s KLISTER with an “I”.

  6. Davina Says:

    Isn’t it interesting how a blog post about a product that keeps your skies from sliding all over the place has SO much potential for encouraging the comment section TO slide… πŸ˜‰ I swear you do this on purpose. I’m not first, but I STILL beat Eyelostguy.

  7. Brett Legree Says:

    Yeah, but both of them are kinda shitty, you have to agree πŸ˜‰

    And to continue with the unintentional spelling, may I present http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBk65oVgAZo

    Heh heh heh…

    Now, question – if you were a true purist, would you not use that which existed *before* the advent of Klister, modern skis, and so forth?

    i.e. hand-made wooden skis, leather bindings, etc.?

  8. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    You say the name reminds you of that other site…?

    …of COURSE it does!

    @Friar’s Mom
    You should know better by now, than to click on anything Brett links to.

    The lad ain’t right.

    @Davina
    I don’t always do it on purpose. Sometimes I don’t even know what I’m going to write about, until a few minutes before hand.

    Though I am disappointed that Eyeteaguy hasn’t given me an earful, yet. This would just be the type of post to get him all wound up.

    @Brett
    Yeah, but I’m not a true purist. Just a partial one.

    They did have wooden skis and leather bindings. And they sucked, compared to today’s equipment. Ask Friar’s Mom what it was like to downhill ski in 1962.

  9. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    Yup! I go way back to wooden skis, with screw on metal edges. My first skis were one up from bear-trap bindings. I had front cable release bindings and I wore leather laced boots.

    We still kept Friar’s first leather boots and wooden skis. They’re antiques compare to modern ski equipment.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    I remember my first skis were like that too. (The little red ones). You had to pull the lever, to pull the cable across the back of your boot, to clamp it into the toe-piece. It would freeze in place, and I’d have to ask strangers to help me, my fingers were too small to do it myself.

  11. XUP Says:

    I’d never even heard of Klister before now. Am I obligated to hate it too?

  12. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    You’re only obligated to hate it, if you use it.

    So I think you’re safe.


Leave a Reply

