This is why I have a 4WD and not a Lame-Ass Smart Car

Two words:

Yee.  

Haw.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

13 Comments on “This is why I have a 4WD and not a Lame-Ass Smart Car”

  1. Mike Goad Says:

    But it IS a Honda. 😉


  2. If you had a lame-ass SmartCar you could use the canoe to transport the car across the river and use the car to portage the canoe!

  3. Friar Says:

    @Mike
    Yes…but NOT a Honda Civic…!!!

    As least I can get places with this CRV, that regular cars can’t get to.

    @Army Wife
    I don’t know if I’d trust the Smart Car to portage the canoe. Too much weight.

  4. Mike Goad Says:

    We tow a 2004 CRV behind our little motorhome. It’s got 120,000 or so miles on it, not counting the miles that it’s been towed. When we finally replace it, the replacement will likely be a later model CRV.

  5. Friar Says:

    @Mike

    I”m MAD at the newer models of CRV. The stupid roof’s curved..and the radio antenna is right smack in the middle (insted of to one side).

    Sure, it looks sharp. But how in God’s name are you supposed to mount a canoe on the roof?

    I think I’ll have to go for the 2004 models or earlier. Mine’s a 2000, and I have almost 350,000 km on it.

  6. Deb Says:

    Hondas rule! I betcha I could strap a canoe onto the VTX, or have a passenger hold onto it…or something. Or make that canoe into a sidecar.

  7. Brett Legree Says:

    You know… a Mitsubishi Evolution or Subaru STI can be had with about the same clearance as your CRV, so you could have a sub-5 second 0-60 road-legal rally car that could go everywhere that your Honda can…

    (Yes, I spend far too much time looking at cars.)

    I liked your pic on FB recently, was it taken the same day as this one i.e. from the same trip?

  8. Friar Says:

    @Deb
    I’ve owned nothing but Hondas since 1987. Though this is the first CRV.

    @Brett
    Yeah, but on the type of roads I go on, you don’t necessarily want to going 0-60 quickly. In fact, you don’t even want to be going 10, sometimes. 🙂

    By the way, the FB photo was from earlier this week. The Yee-Haw mud was from yesterday.

  9. Friar Says:

    It’s official. The one photo of a muddy truck and the Bear has now generated more comments than my last Viking post, which took hours to do.

  10. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    Yep. Don’t bother working too hard on original stuff – on the net, anyway.

  11. seestor Says:

    Hello Junior Bear. Good job driving!

  12. XUP Says:

    Much as people sneer at SUVs or 4WDs, if you’re actually off-roading with your vehicle and driving on rugged terrain then by all means get a vehicle that can handle that. But you don’t need a Yukon if you’re just tooling around the city and never hauling anything bigger than a sack of groceries. Just like you don’t need a big Dodge pick-up if you’ve never been near a farm or construction zone in your life and you don’t need a Hummer if you’re not Horatio Caine and you don’t need a cement truck if you’re not hauling cement.

  13. Friar Says:

    @Seestor
    Junior Bear likes to drive. But someone needs to hit the gas and brake pedal for him.

    @XUP
    Yeah, I take my SUV places where only SUV’s should go (and even then, there are times I’ve pushed my luck and have almsot gotten stuck).

    I beat on it pretty hard…but that’s the price to pay to get into the backcountry, and find my nature-boy fishing spots.

    But I agree…the Soccer Mom’s who drive $50,000 trucks, just to pick up yogurt and juice-boxes for the kids are wasting their money, (not to mention gas).


Leave a Reply

