Friar’s Fishing Philosophy

Any day you catch a speckled trout, no matter how small,  automatically qualifies as a fantastic,  special, magical day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “Friar’s Fishing Philosophy”

  1. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    Aaaaahhhhh! You shoulda taken a close up of the trout, so we could see how beatiful it is.

    I’ve never seen a freshly caught trout in real life.

    I’m just curious about the dates for the trout fishing season?

  2. Brett Legree Says:

    Now, use it to catch a bigger fish!

    heh heh

  3. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Here…I enlarged it on Photoshop.

    http://twitpic.com/1yh6yq

    http://twitpic.com/1yh6yq

    The photo doesnt’ do it justice. Speckled trout are beautiful pink/green/brown/silver, with pink spots.

    The season is from April 30 to Sept. 30. But about 80% of all trout around here are caught in the month of May..when the water’s still cold. This guy was a straggler.

    @Brett
    Noooo!!….trout are hard enough to catch. I’m keeping everyone I catch (So far, it’s been TWO this year!)

    There were tons other fish I caught…useless chub…I’d rather use those as live-bait.

  4. CaptainPush Says:

    Happy Father’s Day Mike!!!! That’s a cute little minnow.

  5. Friar Says:

    @Captain

    Well, at least he was tasty.

    He should be. 1 hour of driving, 1 hour of paddling, just to get to the lake….not counting the hours of fishing just to get him.

    This will probalby be the last trout I’ll catch all year. The water’s getting too warm now.

  6. Friar's Mom Says:

    Thanks for the enlargement, but . . . the fuzzy photo doesn’t do it justice. Still, it’s a much prettier fish than the ugly pike we caught. That one was frightening.

  7. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Breakfast for champions.

  8. XUP Says:

    That’s a very handsome little trout you have there, Friar.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Yeah…pike aren’t know for their looks. Especially the big ones…who would inhale a little trout like this in one gulp.

    @Eyeteaguy
    I was due. It’s been a while since I posted something about lame-ass dead fish.

    @XUP
    I thought so too. I was almost gonna let him go, but my fishing buddy convinced me to keep him.

    He was pretty tasty, too.


Leave a Reply

