No more paintings, please.

This post is dedicated to Eyeteaguy.

(Who feels REALLY SAD when I don’t post any of my artwork.)   😦

a

a

a

aa

a

aa

a

a

a

a

aa

I could keep going, but that’s enough for now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

21 Comments on “No more paintings, please.”


  1. Hi Friar,

    Thank goodness Eyeteaguy requested to see more of your art. I hadn’t seen these and must say, they’re all beautiful.

    You Friar, are VERY talented.

  2. steph Says:

    Holy SHIT, Friar. I am so, so, so impressed. These are friggen excellent!! They remind me somewhat of John Howe, illustrator for the Lord of the Rings.

    These are my favourite posts. I think you should have a blog just for your art. Post about the process as well as pictures and have a gallery as well. I think you can sell these.

  3. steph Says:

    I just can’t get over these paintings. Friar, you really have an amazing talent. Again, these are excellent.


  4. Wow. Especially the birches and the pebbles. A great treat! Thank you.


  5. Great paintings. Could you please post prices beside those that are for sale. Also, if you could post sizes too that would be helpful.

    Thank you.

  6. Kat Says:

    Friar, I love these. Each of them is spectacular. If I had any money I’d buy prints of them. For now I’ll just have to settle for enjoying them here.

    Thanks so much for sharing your amazing talent with us. =)

  7. Kat Says:

    Oh, and P.S., thanks Eyeteaguy, for enjoying Friar’s work soooo much and being soooo supportive that he posted some especially for you (and us by extension).

  8. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Whatsa mattah you camera broken?

  9. Francis Kopke Says:

    Nice paintings!

    Very beautiful. You have a great talent.

    Francis

  10. Friar Says:

    @Barb
    Yes…if Eyeteaguy hadn’t commented on my last post, then I probably wouldn’t even have posted these. We can thank him for that.

    @Steph
    Thanks. I’ve thought of starting another blog for my art. But then again, that’s another blog to maintain, and sometimes I dont’ even feel like maintaining this one.

    Problem is…I’m not “starving”. I don’t need to sell these for money, so there’s not that much incentive. (Yes, I know that’s a lazy excuse…but that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!) 🙂

    @Betsy
    Yeah..the pebbles and the birches got snapped up pretty quickly.

    @Candian Army Wife
    Unfortunately every one of these (except the turtle) is not available. They’ve either been sold, given away or they’re part of my “favorite” collection (which I’ll never sell!) 🙂

    If you look at my other page on this blog, though, there are some more paintings with the sizes and prices.

    @Kat
    Yeah..ain’t that Eyeteaguy great? A realy patron of the arts, he is.

    @Eyeteaguy
    No…I use the camera to take the photos. And then months later, I transfer the photos to paintings.

    It’s a VERY productive use of my time.

    @Franic
    Why…THANK YOU…Francis! 🙂

  11. Stephanie Says:

    Do you sell your paintings and do you make prints?
    I have a gallery in Virginia and might like to buy one if you sell wholesale.

  12. Kat Says:

    So Friar,

    Would you mind if I were to use one of those for my desktop background? I was thinking of saving a copy of the second-to-last for that purpose if I got an okay from you.

    Also, my coworker agrees that your paintings are awesome and showed particular admiration for the pebbles painting.

    Lastly, why yes, yes he is. Truly love the paint-by-numbers posted on his associated blog (as does my four-year-old niece, who can’t quite stay in the lines so well yet). =)

  13. Tony Single Says:

    No freakin’ way. You are obscenely good!

    Jealous. So jealous… 😛

  14. steph Says:

    Oh, you lazy bum, Friar!! Grr!

    I think the first one and the pebbles one are my faves.

    (PS. Notice how many asked if they’re for sale and how much.)

  15. Friar Says:

    @Stephanie

    Yes, I do sell my paintings. I display at the odd local arts show, and have even displayed in a local gallery.

    I haven’t made any prints. But I have originals are for sale. Not the ones here, but the ones on the other page on this blog:

    https://deepfriar.wordpress.com/paintings-for-sale/

    @Kat
    Sure, not a problem. Go ahead and use them as a desk-top. These JPEGS are on the internet, I’m not going to worry about copyright infringement or anything. (Besides, it would be good advertising for me if anyone saw your screen saver!) 🙂

    @Tony
    Oh, there is so much to learn about painting. I know lots of artists who are WAY better…my goal is to learn to paint as well as they do.

    Takes a few decades of practice, though. 🙂

    @Steph
    Oh, I’m not TOTALLY lazy. Don’t forget, I’m still putting in 37.5 hours a week at the Widget Factory!:-)

    And actually, six of these HAVE been sold. The Pebbles went for $260, unframed. And two were personal gifts to friends and family.

    As for the first one, my art teacher at the time said it “gave her chills”. Which was a rare compliment…that painting has been been one of my all-time best, so it’s a keeper and I’m never parting with it!.

  16. Friar Says:

    Heh heh.

    I can just picture Eyeteaguy rolling his eyes at all these comments.

    Which was the main purpose of this post! 🙂

  17. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Frair,

    I can’t remember if painting number four was a Christmas or anniversary gift from you. I love it. It takes me back to when Jay and I walked through Cathedral Grove while camping on Vancouver Island.

    We were so impressed with the height, girth, and age of the trees. More impressive was the quiet and stillness of the forest. A truly Happy Compartment Moment.

    I know your painting is of a different forest, but it still congers up memories.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    It was an anniversary gift. I think it might have been your 40th.

    Those are actually sequoias in Sequoia National Park, CA.

    I remember painting that during my “Unemployment Period”. When my life was full of angst.

    But I DID end up producing some of my best work, during that time.

  19. Kat Says:

    @Friar

    Thank you much. =) My desktop looks so pretty now. If anyone comments on it I’ll drive them your way.

  20. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Purpose achieved.

    *rolling eyes*

    Eyeblechguy

  21. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Then my work here is done.


Leave a Reply

