Drawing a few dozen items at a time.

Besides the random shapes my brain likes to create,  I drew Saturn.

And a doggie.  And a dragon.  And angels.   And a violin.  And a Space Invader.   And a moose.   And a bottle of wine.  And a castle.  And snow-capped mountains.  And a birdie.  And a turtle.  And clouds.  And a pine tree.  And a coffee mug.  And all four suits.   And music notes.   And a barn.  And an orca.  And a happy face.  And a total eclipse.  And another Saturn.   And a Christmas Tree.  And a DQ cone.   And a gorilla.  And a pyramid.  And someone on a swing.  And a boat.  And a lucky horse shoe.   And a snake.  And a happy face sticking out their tongue.   And a paw print.  And an F.  And a backwards 3.   And someone flipping the bird.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Drawing a few dozen items at a time.”


  1. You should start doing work for these guys.

    http://www.scholastic.com/ispy/

  2. Wendi Kelly Says:

    Is this what happens when you get sent to your room? Nice doodles. If you would quit doing them on notebook paper we could frame them and call them art…

  3. Francis Kopke Says:

    Keep doing this.

    They say if you do something for 10,000 hours you will get rich and famous.

    I swear in 20 years people will be screaming for an original Deep Friar to hang on their office wall.

    In fact, I may start screaming first and beat the rush. I love your doodles.

    Francis Kopke

  4. Brett Legree Says:

    Hugh MacLeod at http://gapingvoid.com/ does stuff sort of like this on business cards, as you know.

    I don’t see why you could not do the same, and sell it.

    Seriously… maybe time to use your domain name, set up hosting?

  5. Friars Mom Says:

    @Wendi,

    I thought the same thing when I saw the notebook paper. Am I the only one who doesn’t have ruled paper? It’s especially obvious in the bottom left hand corner. I guess Friar ran out of ideas.

    I’d prefer if he doodled in black pen. But I know he’s a true doodler, like his dad was. He’d pick up any piece of paper and whatever pen or pencil was at hand.

    @ Francis,

    As far as 10,000 hours, I’m sure he surpassed that quota.

  6. CaptainPush Says:

    I found WALDO!!!

  7. steph Says:

    Ha! I was going to say this is like a Where’s Waldo drawing! It’s interesting to see where your mind goes.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Captain
    That’s pretty amazing, especially how I didn’t even draw him!

    @Steph
    It’s also interesting for ME, to see where my mind goes. I have no idea where this shit comes from…it just comes.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom
    I didn’t plan to sit down and make an artisitic doodle. It just HAPPENED…and I used whatever paper happened to be on-hand at the time.

  10. Wendi Kelly Says:

    As an experiment, maybe you could paint this? Or watercolor it with watercolor pencils. You’ve already put it in the computer, so you can re-print it on stronger paper. I am curious to know what it would look like in bright, interesting Friar free-form color.

  11. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    You’ve read my mind. I’ve been towing with the idea of coloring in these doodles. Perhaps you’ll see one soon.

  12. svc Says:

    I love this doodle. I am really attracted to it. Love one for my office – therapist. lol.


Leave a Reply

