Friar-Lanterns 2010

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar Toons

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Friar-Lanterns 2010”

  1. Kat Says:

    I feel bad for the last little pumpkin and his shattered self.

    For some reason the first thing to pop into my head from that last scene is Humpty Dumpty, only as a pumpkin on a wall with little trick-or-treators trying to piece him back together again. =p

  2. Friar Says:

    @Kat

    Trick-or-treaters do WORSE thing to pumpkins, actually. 🙂

    PS. Glad that at least you commented today. I was beginning to wonder if ANYONE is reading this…(??)

  3. Kat Says:

    @Friar

    I know they do, but when it comes to the mean trick-or-treators I worry more about living, breathing black cats. ><

    Also, I almost ALWAYS read this. Just not always on the day you post. And then, when I'm two weeks late, I feel weird leaving a comment. =p So since I mentioned that, I loved the photos you posted in Leaf Time Again. Particularly 3, 5, and 10. Your bear is so very like mine, only my new puppy chewed off my bear's plastic nose. 24 years of safety and well-being and I let him lose his nose to a puppy. =(

  4. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    I especially enjoyed your Pumpkin Lemmings. It reminds me of your “Caution–Falling Lemmings Zone” drawing.

    @Kat,

    Pardon my ignorance but I’m not up to date with you younguns. What’s the meaning of the following emoticons: > < and =p?

  5. Kat Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Understandable. Some of the emoticons I use I sometimes wonder if I’ve put the right meaning to. Usually I try to cull them from comments and blog posts, but what can I say, the IM / text language slips out now and again.

    ‘=p’ in this case is like a smile =). Only you’re sticking your tongue out in a playful way.

    The other ( ‘><' ) is semi-ambiguous as most things with my generation tend to be. I have seen more than one meaning put to it, but when I use it the word "D'oh!" is usually in mind. However, it is also used to express stress or worry. I worry for black cats at Halloween. I know a few who have been adopted into families, but I also have known a few whose families suffered their loss due to bad people getting hold of their cats on Halloween.

  6. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Kat

    Just out of curiosity I Googled “emoticoms” and found much info in Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_emoticons#Graphic_emoticons

    It listed so many of them, I figured it’s too much like learning good olde fashioned Shorthand. I don’t know how you guys can remember them.

    It’s quite an in depth article, discussing Eastern, Western, and graphic emoticoms. Hard to believe so much research has gone into smiley and sad faces. I’m sure students have submitted theses on the subject.

    I always learn from Friar’s posts.

  7. Kat Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Haha. You’re so very cool. My mom would probably know that the word referred to smileys, but beyond asking me have no inclination to do any further research.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Kat

    My Mom is a “lurker”. She’ll never write a blog on her own (but lives vicariously through mine!) 🙂

  9. steph Says:

    Okay, the Jack of Lanterns? That is brilliant!! LOL!

    Also like the lemmings one and the war of the gourds.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    In hindsight, I’m surprised I didn’t come up with that one earlier. 🙂

  11. Kelvin Kao Says:

    I was sort of expecting the last one to be titled “Smashing Pumpkins”. But then again, it was singular.


Leave a Reply

