One winter barn

Whenever I’m outside, I take lots of photos.    I’m always looking for the next subject to paint.

(Although I have such a back-log, it might take me years to getting around to actually painting any given scene)

Here’s one I took (???) Lord knows when.   All I know is that it’s within the last 10 years.

The photo itself is somewhat BLAH.  It’s almost black and white.    But that’s where artisitc licence comes in.  You can add or delete what you want, as you see fit.

So that’s what I did, with this quick study a month ago.   I basically added blues and yellows to enhance the mood of the sunset on the snow.

This was a very loose and free painting.  It was towards the end of my art class and I wanted to whip off something quick.   So I did this in ~ 30 minutes, not caring if I got it right.  I just let the paint fly wherever it went,and I had a blast.

Today, I decided I’d try this again, but this time, a bit larger, and taking a lot more time doing it.

I figured that if I got such nice results with the first attempt, imagine what I’d get the next time, when I really meant it.

Here’s what I came up with:

But I admit I was a bit tense when I painted this.    The results turned out okay, but this second painting was not quite as much fun to paint as the first.

And what’s interesting, is this second painting took almost 90 minutes to do:  almost three times longer than the first.

But it’s not necessarily three times better.

In fact, I tend to prefer the first quick-study.

aaa

So this has been an interesting little lesson for me.

Sometimes, it’s not about the time you put into a painting, but the energy you feel while you’re doing it.

Also, sometimes the first impressions are the best, no matter how hard you try.   And they’re often impossible to duplicate.

a

Okay…enough navel-gazing for now.

‘I’m off to watch some bad TV.

a

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “One winter barn”


  1. Oh, that’s lovely. I don’t have much of an eye for art, but I think that you do wonderful work.

  2. CatGal15 Says:

    Beautiful, just beautiful. I wish I could live there…or at least visit there (with my camera!), since I’ve gotten pretty tired of moving XD

  3. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I have a painting very simliar to that above my fireplace. Its was painted by a guy on the street in Montreal who was actually a very accomplishged painter but makes more money selling it on old centre-ville than in galleries.

    I like the first painting too, much softer. I think you need to put a hint of snow in the air, looks far too cold.

    Now enough with the art, go write a funny post. I need to laugh.

    Eyeteaguy


  4. This was a good lesson in do-overs. I like both of them, but do see what you mean about the first one being more “loose”.

    Wiping out something that beautiful in thirty minutes is amazing.

  5. aliastaken Says:

    I like the first one better and agree that many times with Art, and with other passionate hobbies, it is alllll about the energy.

  6. Friar Says:

    @Magnificient
    Thanks. And I like your cartoons too.

    @CatGal
    I would probably says “visit there”. The winters tend to be a bit long and the novelty wears off aftera while (espeically when it gets to be -32C like yesterday).

    @Eyeteaguy
    I’m on the verge of writing something funny. I just have to get away from Facebook for a while.

    That place is so damned SERIOUS is sucks the fun right out of my funny bone.

    @Barb
    Thanks..though it took about 20 years of practice for me to get to the point where I could do those 30-minute quick-studies.

    @Alias
    This is why I want to keep it a passionate hobby.

    As soon as it starts not being fun then it feels like WORK, which is the whole point of what I’m trying to avoid.

  7. aliastaken Says:

    Yea, that’s actually why I didn’t teach any classes after I became a Zumba instructor. Going to the gym for Zumba is one of my only stress relievers, why would I want to make it into another job that I ‘have to go to’??

  8. Friar Says:

    @Aliastaken

    That’s why I don’t want to be an artist full-time. Then it will feel like “work” and that defeats the whole point.


Leave a Reply

