More window-gazing across Canada.

Whenever I fly, I like to take photos out the window, and try to find out exactly where I am.

My most recent flight started out cloudy.

Somewhere over Northern Ontario,  the clouds finally broke, and I saw this lake.

It kind of looked familiar.  Then I realized it’s Kaby Lake, where I had  spent several fishing vacations.   I recognized many of the islands and bays and my favorite fishing spots for walleye and pike.

Kaby Lake is in the Algoma district,  North of Superior.   This is fairly remote country,  and this is a  “fly in” lake. 

Shortly after, I saw White lake, directly below me. 

White Lake is located off the TransCanada Highway, between White River and Marathon. 


a

Furuther along, at first I thought this was a river.   Then I realized it’s Long Lake, located Northeast of Thunder Bay. 

Long Lake is about 100 kilometers long.   The little island on the left  side of the lake is a good frame of reference for the map.

 

 Northeast of Thunder Bay, Lake Nipigon is quite large.   Approximately 60 km x 80 km in size,  it’s amazing that most of  it fits within the airplane window.

 Right smack in the middle of the lake I saw there tracks going between islands.

I have no idea what these are.     They seem a bit remote  to be snow-mobile tracks.   (And why would snowmobile not go in a straight line?).  

Maybe it’s critters (wolves, or moose?)   Either way, whoever made these tracks put a lot of  work into making them, to be visible  from 38,000 feet.

Further along, this is a  farm somewhere over Manitoba. 

I can’t imagine a more God-Forsaken place to live in January…

…except maybe THIS place (somewhere in Saskatchewan).

If that doesn’t look cold, I dont’ know what does.

Landing in Calgary,  the table-top flatness of the prairies was quite prominent.

Of course, the most scenic part of the flight (over the Rocky Mountains) it was cloudy. 

Every time I fly over the Rockies, it’s cloudy.     Every time.

Though the clouds broke long enough to allow me to see SilverStar Ski  Resort near  Kelowna.

If you zoom in, you can see some of the chairlift towers and snow fences, if you know where to look.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “More window-gazing across Canada.”


  1. Beautiful, especially enjoyed seeing the lakes around Thunder Bay.

  2. Spalpeen Says:

    Awesome flight photos. Some of the map-matches are perfect. And you got to see Silverstar! I never got that lucky. A!


  3. I am now a popsicle. Just from looking at these. Please send emergency hot chocolate!! 😀 Brrrrrrrrr. But gorgeous.


  4. That picture of Saskatchewan looks a bit like the moon – and probably just as warm.

    I’ve really got to admire those that settled in the area hundreds of years ago.

  5. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I read your post twice and I didn’t find anything funny, humorous or otherwise jocular.

    Maybe I missed an inside joke?

    Eyeteaguy

  6. Friar Says:

    @Betsy
    Too bad I didn’t photograph Lake Superior, but that was on the other side of the airplane.

    @Spalpeen]
    Just once, though, I’d like to see the Rocky Mountains. I don’t think I’ve had a clear view in 15-20 years.

    Pretty cool to see Silverstar, though.

    @Janice
    Manitoba and Saskatchewan are pretty brutal in the winter, even by Canadian standards.

    I’m glad I’m flying OVER it, and not living it.

    @Army Wife
    Yeah, I even wonder how the Natives survived there. Especially before the 1700’s when they didn’t even have horses to help them hunt and migrate.

    @Eyeteaguy
    Yeah, well my last post was kinda funny (or so I thought) But you didn’t show up.

  7. triplem Says:

    It was cool to see Long Lake near Nipigon from the air. I worked in a co-op job that took me there in November 1996.

    Things were great until the 3rd day when we had to get out by boat. We only had to take a short crossing to the other side, but as you can see by the formation, it is a natural wind tunnel.

    The waves whipping down the lake meant crossing by the straight and narrow was not possible. We had to drive into the waves at an angle to make it half way across then ride them at an angle to finish the crossing. We were loaded down with samples and gear and the ride was hairy, but we made it. No spending another cold night in a tent thank God.

    Thanks for the great pics!!!

  8. Friar Says:

    @Triplem

    I’ve always wanted to see the Lake Nipigon area. That’s one of the places in Northern Ontario I’ve never gotten around to visiting yet.

    Sounds like a good co-op job, though. It sure beats what I did (working in a God Forsaken Pulp Mill in New Brunswick). m

  9. Nancy Says:

    too many maps

  10. Friar Says:

    @Nancy

    Hah! That’s what my Dad would have said.


Leave a Reply

