Another Visit to Le Massif

About a year ago, I wrote a post where I went skiing at Le Massif, which is about an hour northeast of Quebec City.

I liked it so much I came back this year.

By far, the scenery here is better than any ski hill you’ll find, east of the Rocky Mountains.

On a clear day, you can see over 25 miles up the St. Lawrence River.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

But the weather and the tides can change very quickly.

These two photos were taken on the same day, about ~ 5 -6 hours apart.

aaaaaaaaa

The hill can get a bit crowded on weekends, especially where the main trails all merge at the bottom.

Then it’s a Fuster-Cluck.

(Argh..this is exactly the type of shit I was trying to get AWAY from!)

But luckily, if you stay away from the main highways, you can find a run all to yourself.

Especially if you go on “La 42”, which is one of the steepest runs there.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaaaaaa

aaaa

aa

a

a

a

aa

One thing I didn’t understand, though, was this sign at the restaurant at the top of the hill:

(Okay…I understand they sell crepes…but WTF are “crafety” crepes?)

aaaaaaaaaaa

I didn’t see any ships this time, except this one.

They’re surprisingly fast.   You have a window of about 5 minutes to get a good photo, and then they’re gone.

aaaaaaaaaaaa

You can either park at the top of the ski hill, or at the bottom, near the town of Petite Rivière Ste. François.

…where I found this little varmint wandering around town, nonchalantly.

I wonder if he’s the same critter I took a picture of last year?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Another Visit to Le Massif”

  1. Friar's Mom Says:

    Enjoyed your photos. I too was impressed with the view when we skied there years ago.

    My curiosity got the better of me. I Googled “crafety crepe” definition and the reply was: Your search – “crafety crepe” definition – did not match any documents.

    I wish you had asked someone. My curiosity begs to be sated.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Some things from Quebec, you just can’t translate.

    But I think the sign is in violation of the language laws…the “Crafety” word should be 1/3 the size of “Creperie”, but it’s not. It’s larger.


  3. […] Two an a half months ago,  during my last to  Le Massif,  I did a side-trip one evening, about 30 km north of Baie St. Paul, to the Parc National des […]


Leave a Reply

