A Tribute to Mother’s Day

This is Friar’s Mom, skiing down a double-black diamond run last winter.

Friar’s Mom is 70.

Friar’s Mom was in a wheelchair with a broken pelvis 18  months earlier.

Friar’s Mom is insane…but in a good kind of way.

And I want to be just like her when I grow up.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “A Tribute to Mother’s Day”


  1. Awesome! Well, except the broken pelvis thing.
    Happy Mother’s Day Momma Friar!


  2. Parents who are lucky in their children have children who are lucky in their parents (and vice versa!)

  3. CaptainPush Says:

    Your mom is the bomb Friar!

  4. Friar's Mom Says:

    Wee Friar,

    Thanks for the memories. What a thoughtful tribute.

    A year ago, doctor’s orders stipulated that I can ski cautiously on groomed green and blue runs, and listen to my body. In time, my body told me to try groomed black runs.

    This winter there was lots of relearning to do. In January I skied past those double black diamond runs and resigned myself that they were part of my past.

    Thanks to skiing with you, I eventually built up my confidence. You reminded me how to get my rhythm back and once again I skied down those double blacks. It was my best ski season ever.

    Life is good.

  5. Friar Says:

    @Blogger Dad
    The broken pelvis was just the latest set-back. Friar’s Mom typically has a crisis like this this every few years. Just keep us all on our toes, I guess. 🙂

    @Army Wife
    True. They wouldn’t be Moms if it weren’t’ for us kids. (That’s what Friar’s Mom told us yesterday.)

    @Captain Push
    Yeah..I iagree. I think I’ll keep her.

    @Friar’s Mom
    ..And by the end of the winter, that’s all you wanted to ski..the double-blacks.

    I don’t know who will settle down first…you, because of your age, or me, with my knees.

    But I had a great time to. That was also my best ski season ever. I’ve never skied 17 days straight.


Leave a Reply

