They Can’t All be Gems

Painting class tonight SUCKED.

a
This is what I had set out to paint:

…and THIS is what I ended up doing.

a

Some days, it just doesn’t pay to try.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “They Can’t All be Gems”

  1. Mike Says:

    At least it’s colorful and fits the season.

  2. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Hmm, looks nothing like it.

    I think you should Photoshop the dragon into the photo. That would be cool.

    Eyeteaguy


  3. You are tired of painting what you’ve been painting. Move on to the perspective things you mentioned to me..BTW I like the piece you ended up with. It’s your inner self saying you want to have more fun than you are having with your paint… 😀

    [ And I’ll bet you did the skies first in those great wet washes, decided they were wrong and went dragon/santa all over them instead of letting them stand ]

  4. Friar Says:

    @Mike

    Well, I figure if I’ve already ruined a painting, I might as well have some fun it with.

    @Eyeteaguy
    Well..Duh, of course, it looks nothing like it.

    That’s why it SUCKS.

    @Janice
    I actually did a pretty good one earlier in the evening. Frame-worthy. I was going to do a quick easy “warm down” painting, but it obviously didn’t turn out.

    I already have an idea for my next perspective painting. I might send you the sketch when I get it done.


  5. Looking forward to the sketch. 🙂

  6. Dot Says:

    I think it’s just not finished. You need to float a lot more transparent colors on it. Also, the gnome is a nice touch.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Dot

    Gnome? It’s supposed to be Santa!

    See? I told you the painting sucked.


Leave a Reply

