Still Chasing the Colors.

I’ve been going a bit bat-shit crazy with my camera all week, because the fall colors have been insane.

It’s been an exceptional year.  In recent memory, there are only two years that have been as good as this:  2003 and 2008.

In 2003,  I had a roll of film with some fantastic shots on it, and it got lost in my car got totalled.

In 2008,  I had tons of great photos, lots of brilliant red.  But my hard-drive crashed and I didn’t have a proper back-up, and lost pretty much everything.

So this year, I’m taking full advantage of the colors  (AND backing everything up!)

I’m making hay while the sun shines…there isn’t too much time left.

The fall foliage is already over the hump.   It’s been windy and lots of leaves are already blown down.

A week from now, it will all be finished.

(Though I think I might squeeze in another day or two of photos).

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a


a

a

a

aa

a

And of course, I had to have at least ONE photo with the Bear!

a

a

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Still Chasing the Colors.”

  1. carmen Says:

    whew! thought you had forgotten about The Bear! Absolutely beautiful photos Friar – reminds me of Lake Placid in the few minutes that fall lasted there. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Friar's Mom Says:

    Autumn colours are awesome this year. I can picture what you experienced.

    Best I’ve seen this autumn was during an evening bike ride with setting sun at my back. The crimson maples were spectacular.

    I didn’t remember that you lost a roll of film when you totaled your car. I remember your phone call asking me to pick you up. When I saw the flattened roof of the Honda Civic, it was a miracle that you survived without a scratch.

    I heard a joke today that you might appreciate. “You don’t know how much change you have until you roll your car.”

  3. Mike Says:

    There was a bit of color in Wisconsin before we left a couple of weeks ago and we saw some the entire trip home until about 90 miles north of home.

    Now, this blast of cold air has dropped well to the south of us — there’s even a frost advisory for early Sunday morning — so our trees should start turning soon. With the drought, I figured our chances for a colorful autumn were slim, but, despite the hot, dry conditions of the summer, the forests hardwoods aren’t as brown and stressed as I expected — much greener, if fact, for now.

  4. Dave Says:

    One of the last trips Dad and I took together was up to Algonquin this time of year to see the colours. Though camping there probably 50 times he had never gone up in the fall. He wanted to show me where he wanted his ashes scattered and see what he had heard so much about. Like this year it was an exceptional time and one day in particular dawned damp but the sun came out and after the nights rain the colours were absolutely mind blowing. These pictures brought back memories of that trip. Thank you.

  5. Dot Says:

    Gorgeous! Thanks for the virtual visit.


  6. Stunning. And that’s not even real life.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Carmen Oh, come one now. I think autumn actually lasts 2 hours down there.

    @Friar’s Mom Yeah…what a FOND memory that was, rolling my car. I’m sure you and Dad were thrilled also.

    @Mike Yeah, they were forecasting lousy leaves this year due to the hot dry summer. But it turns out they’re above-average.

    @Dave I’m glad this post helped bring back good memories. Algonquin is one of my favorite, special magical places. The last few photos were from the Centennial Ridges hike, just off Highway 60 near Lake of Two Rivers.

    @Natalie Dot and Steph
    Thanks! It’s easy to take good photos with such good subject matter. 🙂

  8. toeswade Says:

    amazing colours!


  9. […] fall colors this year were okayyyyy…but not spectacular.   Not like they were in 2012 or […]


Leave a Reply

