This is why I hate watercolors.

Just finished off a painting tonight of Neys Provincial Park (on the North Shore of Lake Superior).   I spent a lot of careful time on this.

I was feeling reasonably happy with this my work, until it was time to go home, and I noticed a bright blue smudge on the left.

God Dammit.

Some blue pigment from one of my tubes tube had inadvertently gotten onto the paper.

I tried lifting it, but it was too late.    The damage was done.

Well, at least the stain wasn’t smack in the middle of the painting, or two entire evenings would have been completely written off.

But if I crop off 1/2 an inch,  the painting is still salvageable.  I got off lucky this time.

But still…it’s not quite the same.   I”m bothered by this.

This is why I HATE watercolors sometimes.

It’s so damned unforgiving.

a

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “This is why I hate watercolors.”

  1. toeswade Says:

    Great work! Like the reflections a lot. And yes, that´s the dark side of watercolours. Happened too many times….

  2. Friar Says:

    @toeswade Thanks! And yeah…tell me about it. I’ve lost count of how many times I keep saying I’m going to switch to acrylics or oils.

  3. Linda Lord Says:

    Still beautiful…but maybe the paint splodge also had a place in it…a natural occurence which had a beauty in itself…

  4. eyeteaguy Says:

    Just rename it “The Sky is Falling!”

    Problem solved.

    You’re welcome.

    Eyeteaguy

  5. Friar's Mom Says:

    Surprisingly, your painting is so calm. It doesn’t show your angst.

    Eyeteguy,

    Appropriate clever title. I like your humour.

  6. Friar Says:

    @Linda Yeah…but if someone was thinking of buying this painting saw this paint blob, it might be a show-stopper.

    @eyeteaguy
    Oh…that’s wonderful. Thank you for your input. 🙂

    @Friar’s Mom
    I didn’t have any angst until the very end, when I noticed the paint blob.

  7. Ter Says:

    Looks fine to me…
    Shrugs…
    You are way too critical of your work.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Ter

    I think the painting turned out okay. But the paint blob might prevent a sale. Fortunately, if I frame it and crop it out, it’s salveaglable.

  9. Ter Says:

    The crop job won’t affect the way it looks…at least from my uneducated eye.


Leave a Reply

