Monday Night Art Class: Repeating Apsens

I did this painting of some Colorado aspen a while back.

Colorado Aspen-S

Normally, when I finish a painting, I look at it for a while, and then it goes into a box with all the others.

But I liked this one enough to frame and hang in my living room.

Last year, I was asked to display some paintings in a local gallery and  I needed enough fresh material.

So I decided to put this one up up for sale.

Though I kind of liked my aspens, so I deliberately jacked up the price, in the hopes that it wouldn’t sell.

But sure enough, it DID sell, and I always kind of regretted it.

a

But my house is running out of room, and I can’t afford to keep framing everything I paint.

Sooner or later, I’ve got to let stuff go.

If a painting is unique, and if it’s something that I’ll never do again in a million years, there’s no way I’d sell it, not for any money.

But if a painting is something I know I can do again,  then I’m more likely to part with it.

And I suspected I could do this one again.

a

Which I did tonight.   Six years later.

Colorado Aspen Part II Sketch

t’s smaller:   a 6″ x 4″ sketch with a $5.00 Walmart frame.

For 90 minutes of effort,  I’m happy with how it turned out.   It’s reasonably close to the original.

xxx

So now I have my aspens again.

Which I can hold onto for a while.

Or maybe sell again.

I haven’t decided yet.

But at least I know I can always make more whenever I want.

aa

a

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Monday Night Art Class: Repeating Apsens”

  1. Momlady Says:

    Well done and lovely.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Momlady

    Thanks! I always love it when a painting comes together.


Leave a Reply

