Monday Night Art Class: A Miserable Day

This was Lake Ontario last month, near Sandbanks.

IMG_5406

It was a really miserable day.   There were 5-6 foot waves crashing on shore.   I can only imagine what it must have been like out in the middle of the lake.

Thought I’d paint this and use depressing dark colors to capture the mood.

But I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.    The more I tried to mix dark grey,   the more I wanted color.  So I deliberately added some warm yellows to back-light the sky.

October Storm Lake Ontario

 

Artistic license, I guess.

It’s a different painting from the photo.     Not necessarily better or worse.

But just different.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Monday Night Art Class: A Miserable Day”

  1. Ter Says:

    Definitely looks good.

    I love being on a stormy, wave crashing shoreline.
    I love feeling the wildness of it.

  2. Momlady Says:

    Looks stormy enough to me. I can just imagine the wind with the waves. I like it.


  3. Your way of telling everything iin this post is genuinely nice, every onee can without difficulty know it,
    Thanks a lot.


Leave a Reply

