R.I.P. Stupid Mask That Will Not Die (1977-2014)

See this stupid paper-maché mask?     I made it in Grade 7 Art Class in 1977.

0 Mask 1

I stopped caring for the Stupid Mask sometimes in the early 80’s.   As I got older, I tried to throw it out multiple times but it kept coming back.

(Thanks, Friar’s Mom).

I won’t bother you with the history…(you can read about it here).  But suffice to say,  over the few decades, I just could not get RID of this thing.

The Stupid Mask would NOT DIE.

It continued to plague me, and I thought I would never be able to move forward with my life.

Fast forward, December 2013.

Friar’s Mom was cleaning up the clutter in her house, and I guess she finally decided she wanted the Stupid Mask out of her house too.

So she wrapped it up, and gave it to my Screaming Nephew for Christmas.    

Her thinking: maybe he can amuse himself by burning it in a bonfire, or something.

Now, imagine yourself as an 11 year old boy,  who likes PlayStation DS and MineCraft and Lego, and all the other things 11-year-old boys do.

And Grandma gives you a lame-ass musty paper-maché art project that Uncle Friar did almost four decades ago.   That even Uncle Friar doesn’t like any more.

Now..how excited would you be?

The answer is:  NOT VERY MUCH.

So I offered to hold the Stupid Mask while the Screaming Nephew gave it a karate punch.

Which he gleefully did.

Stupid MaskIMG_5981

And he continued to destroy it.

And I was glad.

Stupid Mask IMG_5992

The Stupid Mask did get it’s 15 minutes of fame, though.  

It provided the Screaming Nephew some mild amusement, when we put the “scary teeth” in front of our faces.

Stupid Mask IMG_5991

Stupid MaskIMG_5980

But, eventually, the Stupid Mask had outlived it’s usefulness, and now is no more.

Stupid Mask IMG_6031

And I say….GOOD !!!

Because now I finally have closure.

z

z

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “R.I.P. Stupid Mask That Will Not Die (1977-2014)”

  1. LisaC Says:

    Thanks for sharing. It started my day off great!

  2. Friar's Mom Says:

    Friar,

    I had hoped to write a story for my grandkids about two conflicting African tribes at war with each other. I had planned to go into detail about the choice of colours and what the colours and symbols represented for the good tribe. The theme would be about conflicting battles and how good won over evil. Eventually the warring tribes lived in peace, and wore similar masks for happy joint tribal dances.

    The original photo in the story would be the mask itself, and the last page would show the mask, in flames, in a bonfire.

    I diddn’t mention to you that I was thinking you could help by providing action drawings for my Mask Story.

    Unfortunately, the story was all in my head, and I was not disciplined enough to find time to put pen to paper. If we had a photo of the burning mask, the story would have been possible.


Leave a Reply

