Honest-to-Goodness True Fishing Stories.

Fishermen tend to be full of shit.

I can tell you this from first-hand experience.

We’ll talk about the one that got away.

Or we’ll only show you photos of the big ones we caught, while holding the fish in front of the camera lens to make it look huge.

We’ve all done that.

But what we don’t tell you,  are the countless times we’ve gone out for the entire day, and gotten skunked.

And what you don’t see, are the dozens and lame-ass minnows we get,  that we throw back and don’t talk about.

But I think it’s time to come clean.

To break precedent, I’ve decdided to showing of my less-than-spectacular catches.

And these photos are true.

Honest to God.

a

Trophy Pike.

Small Pike IMG_6741

a

Another trophy.    (And come to think about it, this wasn’t the smallest pike I got, either)

trophy pike DSCN7672

 

a

Trout fail.   This huge monster is the net result of driving 90 minutes each way, and paddling the entire day.

At least I didn’t’ get skunked, though.

Small Trout IMG_1680

 

a

Trophy Walleye

TrophyIMG_7413

a

Small Walleye IMG_2844

a

Okay…I can’t lie.  My fishing guide caught this one.   He wins.

IMG_2851 Even Better Trophy

a

Anyone who’s gone after perch, knows how easy they are to catch.

And how sad it is…when you can’t even got one large enough for the frying pan…

Small Perch IMG_3053

 

This one’s the best.   I was casting for trout, and I got a clam.

Clam

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Honest-to-Goodness True Fishing Stories.”


  1. How the hell did you get a clam?! Bwahahaha.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Vanessa

    No idea??! (Go figure!) I was casting a treble-hook lure in a river, and got a CLAM.

    And so did my guide, just a few minutes earlier.


Leave a Reply

