Monday Night Art Class: No Improvement.

Here are two versions of the same painting.

I did this first one back in 2001. I overdid the foreground…it was getting too dark and the watercolors were on the verge of becoming mud. I wasn’t happy with it and one day I figured I’d do it again.

Yukon Cabin 2001

Fast forward 13 years. I finished the painting below this week. And once again, I overdid the foreground, and the watercolors were on the verge of becoming mud. .

Yukon Cabin

It’s okay…adequate.

But I don’t feel the love.    Over a decade of painting later, I’m still not not happy with it.

But this time I’m not doing it again.

I”m DONE with this one.

Some paintings are just…meh…..not meant to be. .

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Monday Night Art Class: No Improvement.”

  1. Mike Says:

    I’m trying to think up something inspirational and motivational about this for ya, but, try as I may, I just can’t.

    I know how much you appreciate those. Best I can come up with is “Nice try.” and “”Better luck next time.”

    (Only mild sarcasm intended. I know how frustrating creative work that just doesn’t quite work out can be.)

  2. Friar Says:

    @Mike
    Oh well…they’ can’t ALL be gems.

  3. Andy Says:

    I personally like the first attempt best. I think it is very nice! I don’t know much about art…. just whether it appeals to me or not.


Leave a Reply

