My Favorite Moments During “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas”

In the beginning of the cartoon, the Grinch talks about stopping Christmas from coming.     His lips move, but his teeth remain in the same space.   That always fascinated me, ever since I was a kid.

Grinch Constant Teeth

The expression of pure joy as Max thinks he’s going for a sleigh ride…

Grinch Max on Sleigh

 

…and the Grinch’s immediate reaction.  (“Yeah…right!” ).    Especially when the pom-pom of his hat drops.   That’s classic Chuck Jones animation.

Grinch Max Sleight Part 2

 

The Grinch slithering among the gifts like the snake that he is….

Grinch Slither

 

The fire truck with the super-strong ladder,  which can boost the Grinch to the top of the tree.   I always wished I could have a toy like that. .

Grinch Fire truck

Grinch Fire Truck 2

 

Cindy Lou Who, who is no more than two”    Compare her to the size of the Christmas decoration, she must be about 8 inches tall.   Also notice that she and the other who children have antennae.  Does that mean they’re part insect?  Grinch Cindy Lou Who

 

“And the one speck of food he left in the house, was a crumb that was even too small or even a mouse”.    And then he STEALS it…!!!  The poor mouse’s sad expression is priceless.

Grinch Crumb

Grinch Crumb 2

 

The scene where he steals the ice-cubes.    Think of this:  it’s 20 below outside…the town is covered in ice and snow.   The Whos could always go out and get ice any time they wanted.    But the Grinch still takes the trouble to take the ice cubes from their fridge and put them in his bag, where the will be useless and melt.    Just to prove a point…because that’s the kind of a-hole he is.  🙂

Grinch Stealing Ice

 

The scene towards the end of the movie, when the Whos were still happy, even though the Grinch had stolen their gifts.  And the Grinch puzzled and puzzled,  till his puzzler was sore, and then he had his epiphany.   You can tell when it happens, when the background color changes.

Grinch Puzzling 1Grinch Puzzling 2.

And then ,the true meaning of Christmas came through, and the Grinch found the strength of ten Grinches, plus TWO

I always loved that “plus TWO”.   It just ads further emphasis to his complete transformation.

Grinches Ten Plus Two

And I don’t know what kind of critter a “Roast Beast” is.   It apparently has at least two legs, but the inside looks like pure solid meat with no organs or bones or gristle.  That’s MY kind of meal.

Grinch Roast Beast 1

And you can keep slicing it and slicing it, and it never gets smaller and you never run out of food.

Grinch Roast Beat

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “My Favorite Moments During “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas””

  1. Mike Says:

    Seuss on the loose, of course, of course. 😉

  2. Cloun Samuel Says:

    Pretty quiet in here, Friar. I say it’s time for some Friar inspiration. Some pics or paintings from Friar’s recent outdoor excursions, or perhaps a new cartoon rendering. You can do it, Friar, you’ve got it in you.

  3. Sarahuac Says:

    Hello. Does anyone know what happened to The Friar? I only just discovered the blog. Too late I guess but damn, what a good (super f. excellent) blog it is! Hope all is well and good in Friarland. Binge reading through the posts has helped me through my mother’s passing and illness. Don’t know what I would have done without it. I have never seen anything online that was so funny, so intelligent and so damned REAL. As they say “all good things come to an end” . . . but this one takes the cake. I know I’m nobody in this world, but Mr. Friar you have my Human of Highest Excellence Award. I never laughed so hard in all my life which is significant because these past weeks have been anything but funny. Thank you for the blog. I’m so glad it’s still here to cheer the occasional wandering mind along.


Leave a comment