Another Small Town Moment…

Believe it or not, we actually have a Subway in town.  Tonight I went to buy some food around 9:00 PM.   The store closed at 10:00, so I figured this would give me ample time.

There were three of us in line.   As usual, there was only one brain-dead teenager working the store.  It took 10 minutes for her to get around to making my sandwich.  When it was finally done, I asked to have my sub toasted.

“Sorry, sir.  We shut our oven off.”

“What?  You have got to be kidding me!”.

“No.  We shut our oven off at 8:30.”

“But you close at 10:00!”

And then the snarky little 16-year-old rolled her eyes at me, and said:  

“Do you know how HOT those things get?”

Moral of the story.  If you want to buy a toasted sub, make sure you get to the Subway NINETY MINUTES before it closes. 

This message brought to you by Great Moments in Customer Service.

Sigh.   Only in Splat Creek.

Explore posts in the same categories: Small Town Ontario

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Another Small Town Moment…”

  1. jancartier Says:

    Seriously? You live in a place called Splat Creek?

  2. Friar Says:

    Wellll……Not really.

    I changed the name….for reasons of privacy and anonimity.

    It’s a small enough town that the yokels here could identify themselves in my stories. I don’t want mobs with pitchforks and torches to show up at my door. 🙂

    Heck, I got into ENOUGH trouble with my Letters to the Editor (see “Friar Versus the Grayheads”).


  3. When I read you had a subway in town, I thought you meant an underground transportation system! I’ve never been on one myself. As for Subway the sandwich place, well, let’s just say I’ve given it a few chances but it hasn’t won me over yet. Pretty soon summer will be here then maybe the Subway teens won’t turn that oven on at all!

  4. Friar Says:

    @Melissa

    Splat Creek with a subway? Hahahah! Never in a million years.

    I can take or leave Subway restaurants. But at 9 oclock at night it’s either that or Burger King for fast food. (I won’t touch the God-Awful’s pizza Franchise).

    I think I’m going to write or email Subway, and complain. (Mabye I’ll stir things up again). But seriously…..people in this town need to be told.


  5. @Friar, You choose Subway over both Burger King and PIZZA? ::: shaking head :::

  6. Friar Says:

    It is was a real Mom and Pop pizza place, that would be my first choice. But it’s Godfathers…franchise pizza….not very good. I do like Burger King, but I had it often enough, I felt I’d try the Subway.

    After last night, I think it’s back to Burger King.


  7. LOL Firar, this cracks me up as we have a subway too (that of the sandwich version) and I live in small town suburbia. Those dumb teenagers you mentioned – could be from where I live too. Hahahaha….

  8. Friar Says:

    Monika

    Sullen teenagers, grease, and minimum wage. A sure-fire winning combination, eh?


Leave a comment