Contest Winners Announced!

Hey kids!

Well, the Big Contest is OVER.   Thanks to everyone who entered and answered my ten deep, meaningful questions.   Or tried to answer just a few.   It’s now time to announce the prizes.

FIRST PRIZE

The grand-prize winner is WRITER DAD, for his original comments. (Sorry, Eyeteaguy.)

It was close, and there were a lot of worthy entries.  But there were two answers that Writer Dad gave, that helped sway the judge’s decision.  First, I loved his favorite Bugs Bunny quote (Eeeeeeh, watch me paste that pathetic palooka with a powerful, pachydermous, percussion pitch!) Spoken like a true fan!  Not to mention he liked that quote because was “alliteration’s bitch”.  (Eloquently put!)

The clincher, though, was adding that his scary blood-thirsty Viking would have boots made of MEAT.   (Dude…I’m speechless…that’s just AWESOME!)  😀

Writer Dad wins a signed, original, signed Friar Doodle.  Suitable for framing, putting on the fridge, or lining your bird cage with.  Arbitrarily assigned a value of $20.00 $50.00 no, wait…make that $500.00!

Writer Dad will be sent the original artwork shortly (provided I can get his address).

friar-doodle

SECOND PRIZE

The response to this contest was so…um…overwhelming, I decided to add a 2nd prize.  (Though this 2nd prize is a bit more abstract…it’s just electrons…you can’t really hold it in your hand).

The winner is KAREN JL.   For her “sympathetic” views on Céline Dion, Twitter, and Caillou.  (And also repeatedly using her female charms to tease everyone later on…)    Go read the comment thread if you want to know more!  ;-).

Karen wins a BLOG HIJACKING by Brett and Friar.   Valued at  $100.00 $25.00 $1.75.

The two of us will visit a blog of her choice (including her own), leave our patented smart-ass comments, and just take over the discusion.   This is a guaranteed method to increase blog traffic (even though it will be  mostly due to me an Brett).

Lucky, lucky Karen! 😉

*****************************************************************

Now (in the remote chance that anyones’s actually still interested), here are MY answers to my own contest.

If I were in charge of the world, I would _________ Céline Dion.
Send her on a one-way trip to Afghanistan…and let her and the Taliban try to out-yodel each other.

2.  What’s your favorite breakfast cereal, and why?
Cap’n Crunch.  I remember the first time I tried it…I was three (this would have been ~ 1967).  My Dad brought home a box of this strange yellow cereal which I’d never seen before.   I loved the crunchy sweet taste…it made a huge impression on me.  To this day I still like it.     The world may have changed since I was a kid…but the Cap’n still provides the same delicious dependable cereal that never gets soggy.  (Even though it shreds my gums!)

3.  What’s your favorite quote from Bugs Bunny Cartoons, and why?
A toss between Foghorn Leghorn saying “Foh-tunately, I keep my feathuhs numbered, for jest such an Emuh-gency! (I don’t know why, but this sounds so stupid it’s FUNNY!)

Or when the Sherrif of Nottingman is so livid, he repeatedly hits himself on the head with a hammer and screams “Ooooh…I hate myself.  I do!  I do!  I DO !”  (Never had an angier self-destructive villain been shown on a cartoon!)

4.  What’s the snarkiest, meanest thing a cat’s ever done to you?
Climbed up on my chest when I was lying down, purring and asking for affection.  So when I petted the critter, it went batshit and started clawing and biting me. (What an a**-hole…a dog would NEVER play mind-games like that!)

5.  What’s the stupidest thing you’ve ever seen a dumb-ass dog do?
Stand at the fence, and bark “Nee!  Nee!  Nee!”  (I’m writing a kids book about it, in case you didnt’ already know)

6.  Superman is to Kryptonite, as you are to ________.
Legumes.  (ESPECIALLY lima beans, chick peas, and adzuki beans!)  (Shudder…!)

7.  The scariest, blood-thirstiest name imaginable for a Viking Warrior would be   ________.
KyôrPeth the Skull-(censored).

8.   If they had to replace “Aquarius, the Water-Carrier” with another Zodiac Sign, it should be ________.
Clem, the Mailman.  Or Fallopia, the Yoga Instructor.

9.  Give three tips on how to be UN-creative.
Become a Project Manager.   Based your life on what you read from Blogs.  And NEVER watch cartoons.

10.  What’s the most useless blog post you can think (besides this one?)
One of the Cool Kids, blogging about great one of the other Cool Kids is.


Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

21 Comments on “Contest Winners Announced!”


  1. Humph.

    That’s it. I’m going to find another blogger to harrass.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Don’t worry..there will be OTHER contests. You were a close contender.

    Are we cool? (Or do I have to get a restraining order so you don’t try to burn my house down?)

  3. seanmp1 Says:

    Friar: Won’t the massive amounts of snow keep the flames at bay?

    I’m honored to have Friar’s doodles. Except not the way it sounds. I had forgotten about the boots made of meat. It totally caught me off guard and made me laugh out loud.

    Thanks for holding the contest. It was a lot of fun!

  4. Friar Says:

    @Writer Dad

    Oh…you gotta watch that Eyeteaguy. He might do nothing and lull me into a false sense of security. And then..months later…KABLAMMO!

    (He knows where I live!)

    Boots of meat. Heh heh. Even BRETT didn’t come up with that! 🙂

  5. Karen JL Says:

    Wee!

    Photo of half my cleavage is forthcoming.

    Undecided on the hi-jacking. I may sick you both on Writer Dad for revenge. 😉

  6. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Take your time…Brett and I can wait!

    PS. What’s “HALF” cleavage?

  7. Karen JL Says:

    Now you know.

    Good thing too. Your eyes wouldn’t be able to handle the awesomeness that is full cleavage. 😉

  8. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Oh, my. SOMEONE has a high opinion of themselves, don’t they? 🙂

  9. Karen JL Says:

    Nah, I’m a troll.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Oh…come ON! Your photos on your web page are quite nice, actually.

  11. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    OMG. Out of commission for a few days and I come back to a FULL inbox of contest “comments” (such as they were), and this really neat wrap-up.

    I am jealous of both of the winners. And probably jealous of the runner-up’s cleavage, though thanks, I’ve no need to see said cleavage and find out. I do suspect that much bragging must have something to back it up.

    Sean had me. I hate to say it while Tan-Tan can hear me, but you chose an excellent entry.

    Your own had me LOL, though. I love your #3.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  12. Patricia Says:

    This was very fun…thank you


  13. *sigh* Replace “Sagittarius the Archer” with “Ayladdarius the Big Loser who never wins contests.” 😉

    Seriously, it was fun reading everyone’s responses… thanks, Friar!

  14. Friar Says:

    @Patricia and Aylad

    Oh, don’t feel too bad. You guys both had pretty decent entries. Like I said, ther will be other contests.

    (With equivalent lame-ass prizes!) 😉

  15. XUP Says:

    I’m as humphed as Eyeteaguy. I’m never putting my heart and soul into a blog contest again. From now on I live only to wreak havoc and take revenge for this public rejection and humiliation. I’d join forces with Eyeteaguy, but he’s too mean

  16. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    Well, I think next time, aybe I should hold a contest where EVERYONE wins…just for participating!

    (Like they do in Grade Three)

  17. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ XUP

    Just suck it up and don’t be such a Wuuus!

    It’s not like you’re livelyhood or career depended on this contest.

    I guess egos hurt when they get deflated. Why not get someone to kiss it better.

    Ahhhhh, poor you.

    There, there.

  18. Eyeteaguy Says:

    @ Friar’s Mom

    I love you, I really do! That is my family motto, Suck it up. Or in latin Skukit Uppus.

    I just think its great that Friar is getting tonnes of traffic and excellent (funny) comments.

    Eyeteaguy

  19. XUP Says:

    Well okay then…. I’ll try to be a man about it

  20. Friar Says:

    Oh dear….I didn’t realize this contest would cause such heated discussion!

    Now..PLAY NICE, everyone!

  21. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar, you stay outta this.

    If Xup is gonna be a man about it, I’m gonna be a little boy and throw sand and fight dirty.

    Someone has to.

    Eyeteaguy

    P.S. My answers were still the best. I heard that Writer Dud paid you to let him win, very sad…


Leave a comment